What’s up friends? Hope everyone’s having an awesome week.

Let’s start with the major theme I want to talk about. It’s really something that I’ve been learning lately as I try to provide more value and service to my clients. It’s also something that we’ve all heard before so this should just serve as a reminder.

The more you do, the better you become.

This also ties in with the whole “you don’t have enough experience” idea that a lot of you are struggling with. Bottom line is you have to do. You have to take action. Action leads to so many amazing things:

  1.  The more action you take; the more you do, the quicker you will find out what you love and what you don’t love. If you’re not putting yourself out there and trying new things, you’ll never discover if you enjoy it or not. Why not pick up a camera and see if you like taking pictures or shooting videos? Why not get out some paper and write down how you felt today? Why not try to start a podcast? Start a vlog. See if you like it. There’s only one way to find out.
  2. The more action you take, the more you start to develop that skill. I’ve had an interest in photography and videography for a while now. By no means do I consider myself a “professional” photographer (yet) but I’m finding that the more I do it the better I become. Good old practice makes perfect. We’ve all heard it. But I think that practice requires some patience, and that’s where a lot of people go wrong. If they think they like something they’ll pick it up, try it for a few weeks, maybe a few months, and if they’re not happy with it they put it down. Patience! It takes time to develop new skills. If you really like it, don’t give up.
  3. The more action you take, the more you shorten the learning curve. This is a big one for all of us who lack experience. How do we get more experience? Go out and do. A lot of it. In my case, I can film and edit one video a month. At that rate, it’s going to take forever to get any better at that skill set. If I shoot and edit say two, three videos a week I’m learning that much faster, which is huge! Figure out ways to gain experience in the field that you’re pursuing. Maybe reach out to someone who does what you want to do and see if you can shadow them for a day, a week. Immerse yourself in that and figure out how it really works.

The Grind

This morning I had a great meeting with two of my business mentors. We went over some business strategy and some action steps that I need to take here in the next few weeks. Then I went to my parent’s new house and helped with some painting. Here’s another quick little takeaway, and this is just me being honest. When you start your own business you may have to do little side jobs that you don’t necessarily enjoy. No, painting walls is not my favorite thing to do. Trust me, I can’t wait for the day to come when I don’t have time to paint walls. I can’t wait for the day that my business is making enough money and there’s no need for me to say yes to side jobs. However, right now it’s all part of the process. And this process makes that day when I can say no to those things so much sweeter.

Then I got to film for a client, which was a lot of fun an went well. Got home around 7:45 tonight. Pretty long day. Feels good to be busy though, even if some of it’s not exactly what I want to be doing.

To everyone out there- keep going hard. Continue to push yourself and take more action. You’ll find out so much about yourself in the process.

It’s a vibe. ❤

Leave a comment